DC Government Structure

Executive Branch: Mayor

DC voters elect a Mayor who serves a four year term. The executive side of the DC government is responsible for the delivery of services to DC residents and visitors.

  • Deputy Mayors: The Mayor can appoint deputy mayors for different parts of government that he or she chooses. The current deputy mayors include the Deputy Mayor for Education and the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development.
  • Mayor’s Cabinet: The Mayor also appoints the directors of each of his various cabinet agencies.

Legislative Branch: DC Council

DC voters elect 13 members to the DC Council for a four year term. The DC Council is responsible for enacting legislation, reviewing and approving DC’s budget and financial plan, and conducting oversight of the executive branch. The DC Council is comprised of:

  • Ward representatives: a Council member from each of the eight wards.
  • At-Large members: four Council members who represent the entire city. Two of those members must be from a political party that is not the majority party.
  • Chair: DC voters elect a chair to serve as the leader of the Council. The Chair sets out the rules of operation for the Council and is responsible for creating committees and assigning members to them.

DC Council Committees

The Chair of the DC Council is responsible for creating the committee structure, assigning Council members to serve on the committees, and appointing a committee chair. Each committee has performance and budgetary oversight responsibility for its agencies on the executive side and appropriates the budgets of those agencies. The current committees are:

  • The Committee of the Whole
  • The Committee on Housing and Workforce Development
  • The Committee on Finance and Revenue
  • The Committee on Public Services and Consumer Affairs
  • The Committee on Human Services
  • The Committee on Government Operations
  • The Committee on Aging and Community Affairs
  • The Committee on Public Works and Transportation
  • The Committee on the Judiciary
  • The Committee on Health
  • The Committee on Libraries, Parks, Recreation and Planning

Independent Financial Agency: Office of Chief Financial Officer (OCFO).

The OCFO is responsible for the annual preparation and oversight of the District’s budget and financial plan; forecasting revenue; conducting fiscal impact analysis of all legislation; providing advice on economic development proposals; monitoring and enforcing DC’s tax laws; producing a yearly audit of the District’s finances; and borrowing and investing on behalf of the District. The Chief Financial Officer is appointed by the Mayor, but has independent authority from both the Mayor and Council. The duties of the OCFO are carried out through the following offices:

  • Office of Tax and Revenue
  • Office of Budget and Planning
  • Office of Revenue Analysis
  • Office of Finance and Treasury
  • Office of Financial Operations and Systems
Highlights created by the DC Fiscal Policy Institute.  2011.